(800) 278-9078

RCR Announces New Paint Schemes to Honor Dale Earnhardt

Home / RCR Announces New Paint Schemes to Honor Dale Earnhardt


RCR Paint Schemes to Honor Earnhardt’s Hall of Fame Induction Dillon will run special paint scheme at Dover and Burton will do the same for Sprint Showdown

WELCOME, N.C. (May 12, 2010) -- Richard Childress Racing will further honor the legendary Dale Earnhardt’s induction into the NASCAR Hall of Fame with special paint schemes in races over the next two weekends.

The No. 3 Bass Pro Shops Chevrolet Silverado, driven by Austin Dillon, will pay tribute to the seven-time Cup Series champion in the May 14 NASCAR Camping WorldTruck Series Dover 200 at Dover (Del.) International Speedway. Jeff Burton and the No. 31 Caterpillar team will honor the legendary driver of the No. 3 in the May 22 Sprint Showdown at Charlotte (N.C.) Motor Speedway.

“It’s a privilege to run this special paint scheme to honor Dale Earnhardt on the same weekend he will be inducted into the NASCAR Hall of Fame,” said Burton. “It’s a tremendous way to remind fans about the great things Dale did in the sport, his legacy that we still carry on and celebration of his induction into the inaugural class.”

It was announced April 29 that Dale Earnhardt, Jr., will honor his father’s hall of fame induction by driving the No. 3 Wrangler Chevrolet in the July 2 NASCAR Nationwide Series Subway Jalapeno 250 powered by Coca-Cola at Daytona International Speedway. The one-race program is a joint effort between RCR, JR Motorsports and Dale Earnhardt, Inc. Earnhardt, Jr. drove the No. 3 Oreos Chevrolet, a collaboration between RCR and DEI, to victory in the February 2002 NASCAR Nationwide Series race at Daytona.

“It’s already an honor for me to drive the No. 3 that Dale made famous so it’s even more for our Bass Pro Shops team to pay tribute to Dale’s election into the NASCAR Hall of Fame,” said Dillon. “He’s such a huge part of NASCAR history and was a big part of my life from the time I was born. It’s pretty cool having ‘The Intimidator’ on the hood of my truck this weekend.”

Earnhardt is one of five NASCAR legends who make up the inaugural class of NASCAR Hall of Fame inductees. The others, who will be inducted during a May 23 ceremony in Charlotte, include Bill France, Bill France, Jr., Junior Johnson and Richard Petty.

About Richard Childress Racing Richard Childress Racing (www.rcrracing.com) has earned more than 180 victories and 12 NASCAR championships, including six in the Sprint Cup Series with the legendary Dale Earnhardt. RCR was the first organization to win championships in the Sprint Cup Series, Nationwide Series and Camping World Truck Series. Its 2010 Sprint Cup Series lineup includes Kevin Harvick (No. 29 Shell-Pennzoil Chevrolet), Jeff Burton (No. 31 Caterpillar Chevrolet) and Clint Bowyer (No. 33 Cheerios/Hamburger Helper Chevrolet). Bowyer and John Wes Townley drive the No. 21 Zaxby’s Chevrolet in the 2010 Nationwide Series, Austin Dillon drives the No. 3 Bass Pro Shops Chevrolet in the 2010 Camping World Truck Series and Tim George Jr. drives the No 31 RCR Development Chevrolet in the 2010 ARCA Racing Series presented by RE/MAX and Menards. Ty Dillon, Ryan Gifford and Stephen Leicht are RCR developmental drivers in both asphalt and dirt track racing.

Get In Touch


Request a Quote

Find a Rep

Visit a Branch

Have a quick question? We have a quick answer.

( ) -
Enter security code:
 Security code